• 2723 Noyes Street Evanston IL 60201
    42.058143, -87.705984
    PIN: 10-11-413-013-0000
  • Local

    Within Local District?: No

    Local Dist Contrib/Non-Contrib?:

    Local Landmark?: Yes


    Local Landmark Eligible?:


  • National Register

    NR District Contrib/Non-Contrib:

    Within District?: Yes

    NR Landmark?: No


    NR Eligible?: No


    Alternate Address?:

  • General Information

    Category: Single Family Residential

    Condition: Excellent

    Integrity: Poor

    Current Use: Single Family Residential

    Historic Use: Single Family Residential

    Secondary Structure: One Care Garage

    NR Second:

  • Architectural Description

    Architectural Classification: Gable-Front House


    Construction Year: 1860

    Other Year:

    Date source: Plaque

    Wall Material (Current): Aluminum Siding

    Wall Material 2 (Current): Stucco

    Plan: L Shape

    No of Stories: 2

    Roof Type: Gable front

    Roof Material: Asphalt Shingle

    Foundation: Undetermined

    Porch: Stoop

    Window Material: Wood

    Window Material 2:

    Window Type: Double Hung

    Window Configuration: Multi Light/Multi Light


    Historic Features: Gable fronted house with a living room wing on east elevation, stucco-clad first floor, paired window combination on second floor, south elevation; entry canopy, paired windows in living room addition.

    Alterations: Replacement siding, porches removed, stucco added to base, shutters added, rear addition, entry canopy added, aluminum eaves.

  • Historic Information

    Old Address (city dir.year):

    Building Moved?:

    Moved From:

    Original Owner: Schreiber, Chris

    Original Architect:

    Architect Source:


    Surveyor: Douglas Gilbert, AIA

    Surveyor Organization: The Lakota Group

    Survey Date: 28-Jul-15

    Survey Area:

  • Permit/Historic Information

    Current Address: 2723 Noyes Street

    Old Address:

    Date of Construction: 1860

  • Permit Moving Information

    Moving Permit #:

    Date Moved:

  • Original Permit Information

    Building Permit #:


    Building Permit Description:


    Original Owner Occupied?:

    Exterior Alteration Permits: BP#29588, 1953.08.14, BR house improvement add of living room east side of BLDG, $4.000, OWN Gibney, Morgan, CON Gustafson, H.; BP#31296, 1955.06.23, 2-sty porch ADD at rear, frame construction, $1,900, OWN Gibney, Morgan.

    Other Permit Information: BP#24056, 1943.06.29, 1-sty frame 1-car garage, 14'x20'x12', $200, OWN Newfield, A., ARCH/CON Harris Bros.

    COA Info:

    Historic Info: Some historical notes on the Luxembourg House, dated 041073: This house, built by Christopher Schreiber over 100 years ago, was built in the style evolved by his fellow Luxembourgers who had lost their homes in the Chicago Fire. The simple and unusual design was purely functional. They anticipated flooding which they had been accustomed to in their former homes and with that in mind a basement was not considered. An outside stairway ran up to an entrance on the 2nd floor and 12 inch thick brick walls went from a five foot foundation up to the 2nd floor. The outside stairway was removed many years ago when the area proved to be dry. For 50 years the area changed very little around their farm��ïÿý���â���ï���ÿ���ý��ïÿý���æ..narrow lanes connected the small farms and gypsy bands wandered through the area in the summer months. In the early 1950s the Morgan W. Gibneys moved to Evanston and saw the possiblilities of the perfect background for their extensive collection of antiques. The restored the home and also added an addition to the back and the side which perfectly conforms to the original building. They also aded the charming brick walk in the back made of handmade bricks. The home represent one of the few remaining examples of the early Luxembourg style - unique and warm. Homefinders, Inc. Wilmette Shirley W. Sittig

    Other Sources: Evanston History Center; Microfiche at Building & Inspection Services Department, City of Evanston; Online permits at https://permits. cityofevanston.org/CitizenAccess/.

    Historic Info Compiler:

    Volunteer: J. Steidl. Note: Original building permit was not found at any of the three other sources listed.

Print-Friendly PDF
© 2023 PlaceVision Inc | Help | Privacy